Gerald Levert – Dead @ 40

10 Nov

Sources confirmed to The BV Newswire that Gerald Levert is dead of an apparent heart attack.Immediate details on the death of the beloved R&B crooner were not known at press time.

He turned 40 years old in July.

One of several from the musical Levert family –his father, Eddie Levert, is the lead singer of the legendary soul group The O’Jays — he was a founding member and the lead singer of the 1990’s R&B trio LeVert, who scored big hits with “Pop, Pop, Pop, Pop (Goes My Mind)”, “Casanova”, and “ABC-123.”

Levert, born in Cleveland, Ohio, was also apart of R&B supergroup LSG, comprised of platinum selling R&B crooners Keith Sweat and Johnny Gill.

As a solo artist, Levert garnered a cult following with a string of R&B ballads (“I’d Give Anything (to Fall in Love)”, “You Got That Love”) from his numerous album projects on East West/Elektra Records.

Over the years, the vocal powerhouse has collaborated with Patti LaBelle, Miki Howard, Kelly Price, Teena Marie, Chris Rock and with his father on many different occasions.

4 Responses to “Gerald Levert – Dead @ 40”

  1. JANICE November 14, 2006 at 7:02 AM #

    I will miss you teddy bear i met you three years ago you were so nice and very handsome.I will never forget that night we shared.BUT god love you the most rest in piece sweetheart,i will never forget you.For those who knew you and your music we are in shock and we miss you gerald.WORDS can’t express the way i feel right now. I LOVE YOU GERALD. JMS.GL

  2. Neo November 14, 2006 at 3:50 PM #

    You will always be remembered because of all the wonderful music you did and u will remain my music legend forever!I always called my dad because u shared the name Gerald with my father.Rest in Peace Gerald!

  3. hookmeup November 15, 2006 at 2:13 PM #

    wow what touching sentiments.. thanks for posting

    Rico

  4. Afnik November 18, 2006 at 5:36 AM #

    Mr. Gerald Levert was one of the best music legends of all time. He had a great stage presence and was definitely an entertainer. I would never forget when he came to Bermuda and ‘wowed’ the crowd at our music festival two years ago. Many nights his music soothed me while I was in university. I also took a liking to Mr. Levert because he has features like my father and my brothers. He will live on in the hearts of us – his fans. Much love and respect – RIP you sweet soul. (I extend my deepest condolences to his family. Let the prayers and those sweet memories bring you much comfort.)

Leave a Reply

