Dougie Richardson Passes at 69

26 Jan

Doug Richardson was an accomplished tenor saxist known for his heartfelt solos and cheery outlook. The popular Toronto player died in hospital Wednesday night while awaiting a lung transplant. He was 69. A veteran who’d worked with stellar acts such as Freddie Hubbard and the O’Jays, Richardsondougie.gif was best known as co-leader of the award-winning hard bop group Kollage with boyhood pal drummer Archie Alleyne.

“He was a great friend, always laughing and smiling and ready to help,” said Alleyne, who praised Richardson’s

“distinct energy, compatibility and dedication” on the bandstand. The group last played together at Lula

Lounge Dec. 5.

“He may not have had the technique of more schooled musicians, but he played from the heart,” said JAZZ

FM 91 host Larry Green, who grew up with Richardson in the Kensington Market area.

Flautist Jane Bunnett recalled Richardson as a “positive force” who sprung into action in 1991 when a group of visiting Cuban musicians were rebuffed by local players when they attempted to join a late-night jam session at the Rex. “It was some kind of small mindedness, because they’d never heard of them and they were Cuban,”

she remembered. “Well, Dougie got wind of it and said `Screw that!’ and pulled them up on stage with him. That’s the kind of man he was.”

Funeral arrangements are being finalized by Turner & Porter’s Yorke Chapel. Call 416-767-3153 for details.

January 26, 2007

Ashante Infantry, Jazz Reporter

RICHARDSON, Douglas (Dougie) Joseph

DOUGLAS (DOUGIE) JOSEPH RICHARDSON Passed away, fighting to live with a fury, on Thursday morning, January 25, 2007 at the Hamilton General Hospital. Dougie was born March 24, 1937 in Toronto, and he died ageless. Cherished and loved partner of Adele; loving father of Simone and loving grandpa of Rae-Shaun, Terrin and Jaylen. Loving brother of Norman and Jacqueline. He will be missed by many nieces and nephews. Friends may call at the Turner and Porter Yorke Chapel, 2357 Bloor St. W., at Windermere, east of the Jane subway, on Monday from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. A Celebration of his Life will be held in the Chapel on Tuesday, January 30, 2007 at 11:00 a.m. Please, no flowers. A music scholarship in Doug’s memory is being organized.

13 Responses to “Dougie Richardson Passes at 69”

  1. Gerald Ramal January 29, 2007 at 10:15 PM #

    I am truely sorry to hear that Dougie has passed he was a very good spirited person for the little time I knew him. He always had the perfect thing to say for every situation. He will be remembered and missed. My respect and condolences goes out to Adele and his family and long tim ebuddy Archie Alleyne.

  2. Oliver Zielke January 30, 2007 at 8:46 AM #

    A couple years back Dougie played a regular Saturday afternoon gig at the now defunct Q Club on Queen Street East, along with Kingsley Ettienne on Hammond B-3, and a great young drummer whose name I forget. My wife and I were usually the first there, but By 5 p.m. the place was full. Besides Kingsley and Dougie burning like blow torches, the highlight were the guest musicians, especially incredible African Canadian female vocalists whose blues came straight from their and went straight to my heart.

    God bless you Dougie. What is the jazz like upstairs?

  3. All the former Mrs. Richardsons January 30, 2007 at 11:02 AM #

    All of your previous wives from one end of the continent to the other, wish you a good trip to the other side and our condolences to your family.

  4. Enzo Simone January 31, 2007 at 11:59 AM #

    To Adele and all the Richardson family.
    My deepest condolences to all of you. I have known Dougie for the past 22 years and he has always been a true friend to me. We were so alike in many ways; we had made a connection with our similarities. I was an aspiring comedian and headed to Los Angeles in 1989. I lived with Dougie for 2 weeks and you could never ask for a better person to guide you. He embraced me and supported me 100% with his determined re-enforcement for me to do my best. We shared our deep thoughts and to this day feel not too many people saw or shared his vulnerabilities as I did. Years later when he returned to Toronto; he told me I was a true and honest trusting friend to him. To me he was a person of strong convictions; he lived life to the fullest with his charismatic personality that touched so many people around him. You felt his passion. With his youthful and fearless outlook on life; you felt he would live to be 100. One aspect that made him so loveable was his demenour that had no ego. When you were with Dougie; he made you feel that you were special to him. His laughter and smile will never fade in my life. The memories we shared are everlasting. I feel blessed and honored to have known a genuine person such as Dougie, he touched my heart and continues to do so spiritually

  5. Georgia Boyd Simone January 31, 2007 at 12:00 PM #

    My sincerest love and condolences to Adele and the Richardson family,
    on the passing of a long time and wonderful friend.

    It seems to me that I have known Dougie forever… from the doo wop street dancing days of Kensingon Market and St. Christopher’s House.

    He was a special man: even if I hadn’t seen him for a long time. He was always thrilled and delighted to see me. He always had that infectious grin and sense of humor that would always make you smile.

    He sometimes would visit at our home and we would laugh through comedy videos and listen to great jazz. He was a raconteur; the stories of his travels were entertaining and always filled with some sage remarks. He was a cool guy!
    I thought he was going to live forever. He still does…in my heart. He will be deeply missed. Some people just pass through life. Dougie lived it joyously.
    Georgia Boyd Simone

  6. bernice greenidge February 5, 2007 at 12:47 PM #

    My condolences to the family. I hadn’t seen Dougie for years but we were friends years ago. I met him when he was 20. I would like to hear from Norman , his brother.

  7. Beverley Belfer February 23, 2007 at 7:55 PM #

    My hearfelt condolences to the Richardson family on Dougie’s passing. I knew him through Kollage and loved watching him perform at The Pilot on Saturday afternoons. We have lost a great jazz man, but his music lives on. To his family and close friends, may his memories bring warmth to your soul and a smile to your lips.

  8. Gerald Fruehwirth March 6, 2007 at 10:56 AM #

    My memories of you were as someone that loves life and all that it offers. His music will always be with us, and to remeber the happiness he gave to the worlsd is an accomplishment that no one can deny. I will always have good memories, thank you Doug.

  9. Dev Britto April 14, 2007 at 10:50 AM #

    I only found out this morning about Doug’s passing, on this web page. I met him just a few years ago at the Q club, when I first came to Toronto. I hardly knew a soul in the city at that time, but Doug’s openness and warmth made me feel like I belonged here. He will be missed for that and for his music.

  10. politically inorrect-but who cares! May 27, 2007 at 11:55 PM #

    Doug had great stage presentation but never grew up and never learned how to take care of himself as a grown-up. He always had to have his ‘nurse maids’ near by. Doug really didn’t like women, but they served their purpose. He liked his booze and blow for way too long and way too many of his friends enabled his addictions. Addicts hang with their own. Doug could have been a much better and accomplished musician but he was a sick man for too many years. He was a pathological liar and he ended up hurting himself the most. His private self loathing certainly contributed to his own demise. Doug’s last and 4th divorce was in 1999. His next relationship only lasted less than 10 years. So sad, too bad, but he was pathetic.

  11. lokimikoj September 22, 2007 at 2:16 AM #

    Hi all!

    Cool website! Keep up the great work. Many thanks. Thanks!

  12. Ron Clark December 2, 2008 at 9:18 PM #

    To politically incorrect:

    It seems a shame that even in death Dougie can’t escape the vitriolic attack by a discarded bittersemi psychotic bitch on wheels. Yes I know you are a woman and I have an idea which woman would write such vengeful and hateful things about Doug The next time you feel the urge to attack someone who no longer can defend themselves stick your bloated head between your fat thighs then stretch your cavernous womanhood around both ears and snap out of it.

  13. The last Mrs. A. Richardson January 7, 2009 at 9:41 PM #

    Ron you only can only dream of burying your head between the fat thighs of a woman stretched over your imaginary bloated head, being that you are not one of the most desirable people out there that would make a voluptuous woman want to spread anything of herself near you.
    Dishonor amongst drunks and stoners and thieves. That’s how you all live by.
    You know nothing, Ron of the secret life, Doug lived away from you and the rest of you who all saw him as almost saintly.

    He used you for your weed, as he did everyone else, but when he didn’t need you, he had some damn ugly shit names for you and everyone else dealt with. He was as much a back stabber of you and several others you know and I know, and then some.
    You are naive, Ron. Your angry vile attack shows how very little you actually knew about your beloved one, your so called friend. He knew how to play everyone and work a room to his advantage. He was a thief.
    I know a lot of people loved his music and that is great. But a lot of people don’t know that he left someone whom he beat to a pulp and left permanently disabled. I am saner than you and probably a hell of a lot smarter, because I don’t lie around getting high all day. That was Doug’s thing.
    Doug did take my life away from me and left me with nothing, absolutely nothing. Just a major disability and no money. You continue to have a hate on for women and for me as always. I don’t care.
    Remember I was not the one who cheated on Doug while he and I were married and I know who was the desperate one with no morals and ethics, desperate to get married to an already married man. I know who thought it was cool to be supportive of him knowing of his abuse to me. I know how many turned a blind eye on my existence and with others, Doug hid our marriage so he could have his ‘freedom’.
    So forgive me if I have not been all broken up at his passing. He died as far as I am concerned a long time ago and my brain injuries had to be dealt with from his fist that had direct contact with my head while he was high on his usual shit load of coke, coco-puffs and booze. Is substance abuse not only caught up with him, but his violent behavior also caught up with me and now you know.
    So have have some humble pie, Ron and see that there is more than just your take on the situation.
    I look at some of the names posted here on this page and I see his old coke dealer, who I wonder if he ever paid up, there is an old drinking buddy who played with Doug in LA a long time ago and had a ball with all the chicks, like a kid in a candy store, and then a couple of names that were truly friends and fans that were the real deal and genuinely loved Doug, who supported his music for no other reason than for the love of the music and his talent as a musician.
    The last real Mrs A. Richardson.

Leave a Reply

